Father time records everything that happens. Life is not time but as long as there is life there will be time. 

Memories are linked to the passages of time. It’s our own way of recording down things that happen to us in life. As long as I am a conscious being I will have memories.

Memories are a part of my identity. I am who I am because of things that happened to me in the past. All the baggage, the attitudes, the mindset, personality, biases, prejudices, the behavioural patterns are all picked up over time. And the cumulative sum of all of the above makes me who I am today.

I have to be careful that my past does not come back to haunt me. If it does I will find myself living in the past or the future. This is not living.

I need to face myself. Find a resolution to my problems. Get closure. I need to go down deep into myself and face up to things. Things I rather not face. I need to be brave. I tend not to go far enough. Do what I need to do.

After that when I emerge from the depth of my soul unscathed I will be able to start to solve my problems and find solutions.  I am ready to live again.  The past does not have a hold on me anymore.  This is not an easy thing to do.

Nothing is permanent. Nothing last forever. Change is the only constant. But as humans we have so many attachments. We are clingons. That is why there is so much disatisfaction and discomfort.

One of the lessons for us in this life is to learn to let go. Let go of attachments. Attachments that are built up from the past. We need to let go the things that hold us back. This is how I can be kind to myself. Learn to go with the flow. Be free.

Time waits for no man. An aspect of self mastery is how I relate to time. How I value it and what do I do with my time. Time is not to be wasted. What are my memories, what kind of person am I? What are the lessons learnt? 

One thought on “Memories

Leave a Reply

